KBC National Student Media Awards



The National Student Media Awards (SMEDIA’s) are going into their 17th year and are held every year in conjunction with many of Ireland’s leading student decision makers and opinion leaders from third level institutions. The Smedia’s – often referred to as the Oscar’s for students, receive blanket media coverage and are highly respected by college management and staff.


Students nationwide submit their work to be judged by a host of elite media professionals in order to win coveted awards presented to them by some of the country’s most esteemed media industry leaders and personalities. Media professionals who have judged past entries include Fionnan Sheehan, Lenny Abrahamson, Marian Finucane, Neil Leslie and Tim Vaughan to name a few.


Presenters have included Gay Byrne, Eoghan McDermott, Dave Fanning, Ray Darcy, Brian Dobson, Eileen Dunne, Jedward, Claire Byrne, Pat Shortt, Roz Purcell and Kathryn Thomas.


The Smedia’s are a fantastic networking event for everyone involved and in particular businesses who avail of its specific targeted marketing opportunites. They are Ireland’s only successful commercially branded student event. Previous sponsors have included; The Irish Times, The Irish Examiner, The Herald, The Irish Daily Star, The Irish Independent, RTE2, Brown Bag Animation, TV3, TG4 and Bulmers.

Statistic highlights from 2016:


  • 5 dedicated staff as part of the Smedias team
  • Over 1,000 entries each year
  • 36 Judges
  • 20 colleges visited on SMEDIAS Roadshow
  • 16 sponsors
  • Over 50 VIPS
  • Attended by 400 Students
  • 36 Awards won
  • 45 Pieces of coverage
  • Total OTS reached; 19,445,925